Tags

hope

I feel like I’ve been living in a dream and tomorrow, I will be forced to wake up.  For 25 years, I have shown up every day with a smile on my face ready to greet oppression, bigotry, hatred, malice and most of all, absolute demoralization of my existence all because my skin is darker than the majority around me.  Yet, in spite of it all, I clock in, smile, and begin the work that is at hand.

Shaking hands with my colleagues and sitting down to discuss how the country profits from my accomplishments, as long as they are able to take credit and I remain behind the scenes, as if my place was never to be in the forefront.  This was not something, I signed up for.  It was spoken that as long as I worked hard, I would be entitled to the rewards just like my constituents, yet they left out, I would have to work twice as hard and my work be error free, before I was even considered in the running.

Meeting after meeting, I am allowed to be in the same room, but not allowed to sit at the table and give an input, because if I was to say something “deep and profound” and it goes against the moral ethics of what we stand for, I might shake the foundation and cause a shift in the normal polarity of society’s infrastructure.  So for fear of termination, I mosey along because the massa says so…What a minute. Hold the hell up!

For far too long I have been forced to take a back seat.  Had it not been for the last 8 years, I might not have ever believed it possible that I could obtain any more than a dream spewed from the mouth of the late Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and bear witness to the first scandal free presidency and one that was executed without bias to race, color, or creed and now I am suppose to go to the back of the bus and just clock in and smile and say “yes, sir and no, sir” and “would that be all sir.”  I don’t think so.

I have worked too hard and too many hours trying to be the bigger man and smile in the face of racism.  I have shaken hands and held conversations with people who don’t share the same skin color or complexion, as I.  I have given my blood, sweat, and tears and stood with uniformed servicemen who share different political views than me, and in spite of their ignorant banter and childish rhetoric, still called and considered them a brother and choose to spread love toward them, instead of hate and malice in my heart.  When am I going to receive my raise in society and be promoted to finally being considered a full-fledged citizen and not looked down upon because of the assumptions of my ethnic classification.

How come I have to pass a 150-point inspection to be sure I’m considered qualified for the promotion, when my fellow colleague can be cleared with flying colors because he’s a legacy and an heir to a good name?  Why don’t the rules apply to everyone.  We all work the same job, clock in the same hours and clock out everyday.  The only difference is our pay, which determines our worth and ultimately where we rank in the company.  In other words, because I am non-white, I am treated like minimum wage, devalued and barely able to survive; overly taxed and forced to prove my worth everyday and heaven forbid I slip up or the book will be thrown at me and I can kiss my existence goodbye.

Let this sit for a moment and ponder how every forgotten person feels everyday when the majority wins.  There’s the belief that it’s more than just race, yet society reminds us everyday how race is defined and that is either your black, white or brown, instead of the fact we each make up one race and that is the human race and should be treated fairly with all rights and privileges the majority receives.

Overworked

 

 

 

